Panchayat and Rural Development

With a view to bring uniformity in the Panchayat Raj system in the state, in the year 1962, new Panchayat Acts were enacted in the year 1981 and 1990 to make the Madhya Pradesh Panchayat Raj system more strong and effective. In accordance with the 73rd Amendment Act 1992 of the Constitution of India, Madhya Pradesh Panchayat Raj Act, 1993 (No. 1 of 1994) has been implemented in the State with effect from 25 January 1994.

zila panchayat

पंचायती राज

Under the three-tier Panchayati Raj system, the District Panchayat at the Gram Panchayat Development Block level and the District Panchayat institution at the district level are working. The basic objective of the department is to benefit the eligible person from the schemes of Panchayat and Rural Development Department along with good governance and strong Panchayat Raj system. Villagers are being connected to the mainstream by providing community-oriented schemes along with beneficial schemes through Panchayatiraj Institutions. Through various schemes, the social and economic standard of villagers is being improved qualitatively under the leadership of Panchayat Raj representatives. The status is as follows on 01 January 2021 through departmental schemes: –

Prime Minister Housing Mission

 78651 Houses constructed

Swachh Bharat Mission (Rural)

 267390 Toilets constructed

Mid day meal program

 169000 students approximately per academic day

Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme

 3726 works completed from year 2018 to present and From the year 2016, the amount was Rs. 224.67 lakh man days created

District Level PRD Offices
Sr. No. Office Phone No. Email
1 President, ZilaPanchayat 07282235049
2 CEO, Zila Panchayat 07282232880 ceozp[at]mp[dot]gov[dot]in


Block Level PRD Offices
SN Block Phone No. Email
1. Khargone 80859-16800 jpkhargone[at]mp[dot]nic[dot]in
2. Kasrawad 98262-67209 jpkaskhr[at]mp[dot]nic[dot]in
3. Maheshwar 88399-76160 jpmahkhr[at]mp[dot]nic[dot]in
4. Badwah 98260-51171, 96919-98795 jpbarkhr[at]mp[dot]nic[dot]in
5. Gogaon 77469-48029 jpgogkhr[at]mp[dot]nic[dot]in
6. Bhikangaon 99264-17912 jpbhikhr[at]mp[dot]nic[dot]in
7. Jhirniya 99261-64805 jpzirkhr[at]mp[dot]nic[dot]in
8. Bhagwanpura 94246-32609 jpbhakhr[at]mp[dot]nic[dot]in
9. Segaon 94240-53705 jpsegkhr[at]mp[dot]nic[dot]in